My Lil’ Ol’ Duke

Tonight let’s talk about the little machine that makes this wonderful blog possible.

Cute puppy.

Duke feat. GLACÉAU smartwater and my multivitamin supplement that keeps me strong.

Duke keeps me alive. Duke maintains my sanity. So tonight we talk about what keeps it alive and what maintains its sanity.

What is Duke really? It’s a Sager, some sort of gaming laptop which I would claim to know a lot about and proceed to boast all about its specs but in reality I know nothing and just wanted to play RuneScape at the highest FPS possible (which I can’t and am extremely disappointed about; by the way I’m not being sponsored by Sager which is why I’ve chosen to badmouth them; just kidding I love this laptop).

My laptop.

Oh look at that fine finish. Duke you’re looking great tonight. You can see the Sager logo so now you know what to look for the next time you want to splurge on a gaming RuneScape laptop.

Apparently Duke feeds upon electricity which blew my mind when I first found out so don’t feel alone if you let out a little (wow!) just now. It came with this thing that people call a PSU or power adapter or whatever. I gave it a gratuitous photo shoot just as any hip 21st century teen does with his/her daily meals. I don’t have an Instagram though, so #nofilter.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If we really want to find out what Duke has been consuming, we should take a look at the last image. We find that the PSU outputs 19.5 V at 6.15 Amps. The wattage is then around 120 W (thanks manufacturing label standards for saving me from performing a gruesome multiplication but I will do so anyway: 19.5 V * 6.15 Amps is pretty much 120 W).

So we’ve gathered that apparently the PSU has an operating voltage of 19.5 V and an operating current of 6.15 Amps. Now, due to years of Physics-classroom breeding, it is absolutely necessary to find the internal resistance associated with these values which we find to be

19.5 V / 6.15 Amps = 3.17 Ohms.

Note that it is somewhat crude to treat the given output values as the voltage and current running through the PSU at all times. This is simply because what the computer actually consumes at various times will fluctuate based on how much power it actually needs! We’ll just ignore this for the sake of simplicity (this is somewhat of an introductory post anyhow).

Now what I really want to know is how much Duke’s food costs because, to be honest, I’m strapped on cash and I’ll save on whatever I can (sorry Duke). We can figure this out using BGE’s electric supply rates (because I currently live in Baltimore). Clearly I’m on Schedule R because that’s for residential people who want electricity all the time and only god knows how hungry Duke can get. Over the year the average cents/KW-h is 8.7955 cents. Since every hour Duke consumes about (120 Watts * 6.15 Amps) / 1000 = .738 KW-h, then every hour I’m paying

.738 * 8.7955 = 6.49 cents.

What the heck? That means I have to pay 6.49 * 24 = 156 cents every day to feed Duke. I can barely sustain myself with 10 times that amount where am I going to get a spare dollar and a half every day? What’s even worse is that’s how much Duke consumes but the PSU isn’t actually 100% efficient so it’s probably using a non-negligible amount more than 120 Watts…

Flaunting my wealth.

Tomorrow’s rations for Duke. What do I even have left?

Just kidding! I live in a dorm so my massive tuition pays for Duke’s food!

In retrospect, it’s pretty baffling how much money gets funneled into keeping our bodies warm and our lives occupied with little gadgets. I mean, simply charging a laptop costs around $1 per day. Maybe, if saving the environment wasn’t reason enough, this will get people (cough, myself) to be more energy conscious.

Whisper some secrets to Duke...

